Paso Robles, California
27 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1919 and the latest in 1989. It stands in the Paso Robles census division. It lies in ZIP code area 93446. It lies near Fern Canyon. The Survey maps it on the Paso Robles quadrangle. 31,490 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 732 feet above sea level.
Then and now
1919 to 1989The same ground, surveyed 70 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


On record in Paso Robles
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register 5 records
Bank of Italylisted 1998
Brewster-Dutra Houselisted 1982
Paso Robles Almond Growers Association Warehouselisted 2016
Paso Robles Carnegie Librarylisted 1998- Lincoln Schoollisted 2001
Population over time
2 figuresPaso Robles grew from 29,793 to 31,490 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 29,793 | |
| 2020 | 31,490 | +1,697 (+6%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
11 surveys from 27 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1919 USGS Paso Robles quadrangle1:62500, 5 printings
- 1943 USGS Paso Robles quadrangle1:62500
- 1947 USGS San Luis Obispo quadrangle1:250000
- 1948 USGS Paso Robles quadrangle1:24000, 7 printings
- 1948 USGS Paso Robles quadrangle1:62500, 2 printings
- 1948 USGS San Luis Obispo quadrangle1:250000
- 1956 USGS San Luis Obispo quadrangle1:250000, 5 printings
- 1957 USGS San Luis Obispo quadrangle1:250000
- 1958 USGS San Luis Obispo quadrangle1:250000
- 1961 USGS Paso Robles quadrangle1:62500, 2 printings
- 1989 USGS Paso Robles quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
483 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 483 fires within 5 miles of Paso Robles between 1992 and 2020, burning about 902 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 8 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 229 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 170 |
| Debris and open burning | 35 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 16 |
| Smoking | 12 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 8 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 4 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 3 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Other causes | 2 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | San Luis Obispo Unit | WELLSONA |
| 9 September 2004 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | San Luis Obispo Unit | EUREKA |
| 9 September 2001 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2.0 acres | San Luis Obispo Unit | HANSON |
| 8 September 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | 5.0 acres | San Luis Obispo Unit | CRESTON |
| 7 September 2014 | Other causes | under an acre | San Luis Obispo Unit | RIVER |
| 7 September 1995 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | San Luis Obispo Unit | SLU-3093 |
| 6 September 2004 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | San Luis Obispo Unit | 101 |
| 6 September 1993 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | San Luis Obispo Unit | SLU 3113 |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
9 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Paso Robles: 8 producers, 1 past producer. 8 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Manganese, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mountain Springs Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Thompson Deposit | Manganese | Producer | ||
| 12th Street Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Branch Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Miller Sand Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Munari Salinas River Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| North River Road Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Paso Pit and Mill | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Slash Bar G Ranch Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer |
Storms near this place
3 since 2002Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Paso Robles in 3 storm reports between 2002 and 2024: 2 flash flood, 1 wildfire. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2002 | Wildfire | Paso Robles | $290,000 | A wildfire burned 715 acres of forest in San Luis Obispo County, about 12 miles east of Paso Robles. The fire cost about $290,000 to fight, but resulted in no deaths or injuries. |
| February 2024 | Flash Flood | Paso Robles | - | Swift water rescue teams rescued three people from the Salinas River. |
| February 2024 | Flash Flood | Paso Robles | - | Flash flooding resulted in the closure of a section of Buena Vista Drive, near Paso Robles. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Paso Robles | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q586528 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 254139. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.










