From the record
One of 118 National Register listings published here for Douglas County · listed in 2018 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2018.
One of 118 National Register listings published here for Douglas County · listed in 2018 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 30 fires within 5 miles of O'Sullivan, John and Anna Farmstead between 2015 and 2020, burning about 1,025 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 14 |
| Debris and open burning | 10 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 2 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Natural | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 July 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3.0 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 710182 |
| 23 June 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 80 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 39 |
| 10 June 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Shawnee County | 579 |
| 8 April 2018 | Debris and open burning | 9.0 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 407181 |
| 10 April 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 80 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 34 |
| 1 April 2018 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Kansas Forest Service | 401181 |
| 9 March 2018 | Arson/incendiarism | 95 acres | Kansas Forest Service | 309181 |
| 6 March 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 acres | Douglas County | 306171 |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lone Star Lake Dam | 5.2 miles | 2023 | |
| Lone Star Lake Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Camp | 5.5 miles | 2023 | |
![]() | Clinton School District 25 | 7.2 miles | 1998 |
![]() | Chicken Creek Bridge | 7.2 miles | 1990 |
| Sowers-Crawford Farms Historic District | 7.7 miles | 2023 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100002623 in Record Group 79. |
| Douglas County | All 118 listed properties in this county. |