BlockBefore

East Princeton Village Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2004. 20 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1885.

From the record

One of 686 National Register listings published here for Worcester County · listed in 2004 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Address. Roughly Main St., Leominster Rd., Princeton
  • When was it listed? March 2004
  • Category. district
  • National Register reference number. 04000188 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

46 since 2015

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 46 fires within 5 miles of East Princeton Village Historic District between 2015 and 2020, burning about 87 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning23
Missing data/not specified/undetermined17
Recreation and ceremony2
Equipment and vehicle use2
Arson/incendiarism1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2016Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
5 September 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
24 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.4 acresMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire ControlMONOOSNOC HILL
22 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
18 September 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
2 August 2018Debris and open burningunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
5 July 2017Debris and open burningunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
23 July 2016Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named

Every fire recorded in Worcester County

Mines and quarries near this property

8 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of East Princeton Village Historic District: 4 past producers, 2 producers, 1 prospect, 1 occurrence. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Peat, Tungsten, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
LeominsterLithium, TinOccurrence1824
Luciani ProspectTungstenProspect
Pandolf QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Sterling Peat CoPeatPast ProducerPeat
John D PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Princeton PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Sterling PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Town of Sterling PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary

Every working recorded in Worcester County

Maps showing this location

20 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 04000188 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Worcester CountyAll 686 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.