From the record
one of 6 National Register listings in Fulton County · listed in 2021 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2021. A historic map-sheet match is not published yet. The record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary.
one of 6 National Register listings in Fulton County · listed in 2021 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 15 fires within 5 miles of Fulton Lodge No. 248 between 2006 and 2020, burning about 21 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 12 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 16 July 2012 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 7 June 2020 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 15731 |
| 16 May 2012 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 26 April 2014 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 22 April 2007 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 21 April 2008 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 19 April 2007 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 14 April 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. Museums hold 643 specimens collected within 10 miles of Fulton Lodge No. 248 between 1894 and 1975: 620 Animalia, 15 Plantae, 8 Fungi. 12 distinct Species records are shown. Collected by Conan J. Taylor, DDT, Davis, H.A.; Davis, T. and others. Each is a physical object with a catalogue number, and each entry opens the museum's record. This is what was collected and kept, not a survey of what lives here - nothing can be concluded from a species being absent.
| Image | Species | Year | Collected by | Where, as recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Setophaga ruticilla (Linnaeus, 1758) | 1894 | Edward Wilkinson | Wauseon |
![]() | Pipilo erythrophthalmus (Linnaeus, 1758) | 1894 | Hine, J. S. (James Stewart) | Wauseon, Fulton, Ohio, USA |
![]() | Buteo lineatus (Gmelin, 1788) | 1897 | Hine, J. S. (James Stewart) | Fulton, Ohio, USA |
![]() | Gomphus fraternus (Say, 1840) | 1898 | J. Hine | Wauseon |
![]() | Sympetrum corruptum (Hagen, 1861) | 1898 | J. Hine | Wauseon |
![]() | Parus atricapillus Linnaeus, 1766 | 1899 | not recorded | Wauseon, Fulton, Ohio, USA |
![]() | Bombus affinis Cresson, 1863 | 1902 | not recorded | Wauseon |
| Pucciniastrum agrimoniae (Dietel) Tranzschel | 1902 | W. A. Kellerman | ||
![]() | Pucciniastrum americanum (Farl.) Arthur | 1902 | W.A. Kellerman | |
| Sarcophaga spatulata Aldrich, 1916 | 1902 | Hine | Wauseon | |
![]() | Tamias striatus (Linnaeus, 1758) | 1905 | not recorded | Wauseon, Fulton Co., Ohio, USA |
![]() | Tamiasciurus hudsonicus (Erxleben, 1777) | 1905 | not recorded | Wauseon, Fulton Co., Ohio, USA |
All 643 specimens within 10 miles, at the Global Biodiversity Information Facility.
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Delta, the town this property stands in, in 18 storm reports between 1997 and 2025: 11 thunderstorm wind, 4 hail, 1 tornado, 1 lightning. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 2010 | Tornado (EF2) | South Delta | $500,000 | The tornado touched down along Highway 109 just north of County Road A and moved northeast, impacting several homes, trees and power lines. Several homes were severely damaged or destroyed (DI:FR12 DOD: 8). However, improper anchoring of some of the homes resulted in a failure on all walls, resulting in their destruction. Several trees were uprooted or damaged, including through the Maumee State Forest. The tornado ended near the Fulton/Lucas county line. The maximum width of the tornado was around 700 yards with maximum wind speeds estimated around 130 mph. Damage is estimated at $500,000. |
| June 2025 | Thunderstorm Wind | Delta | $100,000 | Trained spotter reports thunderstorm wind damage in the form of 3 semi trucks blown over on the Ohio Turnpike near County Road 5-2 near the town of Delta. |
| June 2013 | Lightning | Delta | $50,000 | Lightning was indirectly the cause of structure fire on the 300 block of Wood Street. Fire officials reported that lightning struck a power line near the residence, with the live line impacting the residence and immediately started a fire. The house was a total loss. |
| June 2025 | Thunderstorm Wind | Delta | $25,000 | Broadcast media relayed reports of thunderstorm wind damage of a barn with the doors blown off and a silo now leaning off of the concrete pad near the town of Delta. |
| June 2007 | Thunderstorm Wind | Delta | $10,000 | Several trees were uprooted and power poles leaning across the southeastern part of the county. |
| August 2000 | Thunderstorm Wind | Delta | $10,000 | Roof off of building. |
| November 1998 | Thunderstorm Wind | Delta | $10,000 | SEVERAL TREES WERE BLOWN DOWN WITH SOME ROADS REPORTED BLOCKED. SEVERAL POWER POLES WERE ALSO REPORTED SNAPPED. |
| May 1997 | Thunderstorm Wind | Delta | $2,000 | no account filed |
| April 2025 | Flood | Delta | $1,000 | Ohio DOT reports US 20A is closed in Delta due to water over the road as of 6am EDT. |
| August 2021 | Thunderstorm Wind | Delta | - | Local fire officials reported wires down on County Road 7. |
| June 2020 | Thunderstorm Wind | Delta | - | Spotter reported powerlines down. |
| July 2012 | Thunderstorm Wind | South Delta | - | Emergency management officials reported a eight inch diameter tree limb down across the road at the intersection of County Road B and 8. |
| May 2007 | Hail | Delta | - | Local newspaper articles reported hail slightly larger than the size of golf balls falling across the southern part of the county. Damage occurred to vehicles and homes across the area but no specific damage amounts were available. |
| July 2003 | Thunderstorm Wind | Delta | - | HAM radio operator reported trees down in Delta. |
| July 1999 | Thunderstorm Wind | Delta | - | Power lines blown down. |
| April 2020 | Hail | Delta | - | no account filed |
| June 2001 | Hail | Delta | - | no account filed |
| June 2001 | Hail | Delta | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Fulton County Courthouse | 6.6 miles | 1973 |
![]() | Lake Shore and Michigan Southern (LS&MS) Railroad Depot--Wauseon | 7.0 miles | 1993 |
![]() | Jones--Read--Touvelle House | 7.2 miles | 1987 |
![]() | Clement, George S., House | 7.3 miles | 1983 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100006149 in Record Group 79. |
| Fulton County | All 6 listed properties in this county. |