BlockBefore

Clarke School for the Deaf Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2022. 22 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1885.

From the record

One of 86 National Register listings published here for Hampshire County · listed in 2022 · category: District.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

Fires near this property

83 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 83 fires within 5 miles of Clarke School for the Deaf Historic District between 2001 and 2020, burning about 322 acres in total. 7 started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined27
Equipment and vehicle use20
Debris and open burning14
Recreation and ceremony10
Natural7
Arson/incendiarism5

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2015Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
3 September 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
27 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
2 September 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
18 September 2020Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreSylvio O. Conte National Wildlife RefugeMILL RV DIV MA-SCR #4
18 September 2020Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreSylvio O. Conte National Wildlife RefugeMILL RV DIV MA-SCR #3
17 September 2020Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreSylvio O. Conte National Wildlife RefugeMILL RV DIV MA-SCR #2
15 September 2020Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreSylvio O. Conte National Wildlife RefugeMILL RV DIV MA-SCR #1

Every fire recorded in Hampshire County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 22 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 22 workings within 5 miles of Clarke School for the Deaf Historic District: 11 producers, 11 past producers. 11 still produce. What was taken out: Brick Clay, Clay, Stone, Dimension, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Hatfield Lead MineBarium-Barite, Lead, ZincPast ProducerVein
Hatfield Lead MineBarium-Barite, Zinc, LeadProducerBarite, Galena, Sphalerite
Hatfield Lead MineBarium-Barite, Lead, ZincPast Producer
Sandstone QuarryFlagstonePast Producer
Wzorek PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Granite Rock QuarryGranitePast Producer
Granite Rock QuarryGranitePast Producer
Bill Willard IncSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Florence PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Granite Rock QuarryStone, DimensionProducer

Every working recorded in Hampshire County

Maps showing this location

22 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Manse, The0.2 miles1976
Calvin Coolidge House0.3 miles1976
Smith Alumnae Gymnasium0.4 miles1976
Northampton Downtown Historic District0.6 miles1976
Northampton Downtown Historic District (Boundary Increase)0.6 miles1985
Building at 8-22 Graves Avenue0.6 miles1985

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100007664 in Record Group 79.
Hampshire CountyAll 86 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.