From the record
One of 138 National Register listings published here for Plymouth County · listed in 2015 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2015. 18 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1886.
One of 138 National Register listings published here for Plymouth County · listed in 2015 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 452 fires within 5 miles of Centre and Montello Streets Historic District between 2005 and 2020, burning about 190 acres in total. 5 started naturally. 8 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 223 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 137 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 32 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 26 |
| Smoking | 20 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 8 |
| Natural | 5 |
| Fireworks | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | BROCKTON |
| 9 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | BROCKTON |
| 9 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | ABINGTON |
| 9 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | ABINGTON |
| 8 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | BROCKTON |
| 8 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | ABINGTON |
| 7 September 2015 | Natural | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | BROCKTON |
| 7 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | BROCKTON |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 12 workings within 5 miles of Centre and Montello Streets Historic District: 9 past producers, 2 producers, 1 plant. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simeone Stone Corp | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Stoughton Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| A Edward Sarni | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Avon Building Supply Co | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Avon Building Supply Inc. | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Boston Sand and Gravel Co | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Brockton Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Brockton Sand & Gravel Company Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Gerald Kelleher Pit and Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Klondyke Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| School Street-Main Street Historic District | under 500 feet | 2025 | |
![]() | Brockton City Hall | under 500 feet | 1976 |
![]() | Howard Block | 0.1 miles | 1982 |
![]() | Goldthwaite Block | 0.1 miles | 1982 |
![]() | Curtis Building | 0.1 miles | 1982 |
![]() | Lyman Block | 0.1 miles | 1982 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 15000352 in Record Group 79. |
| Wikipedia article | Community-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA. |
| Plymouth County | All 138 listed properties in this county. |