From the record
One of 25 National Register listings published here for Highland County · listed in 1970 · category: Site.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1970. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1915.
One of 25 National Register listings published here for Highland County · listed in 1970 · category: Site.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 24 fires within 5 miles of Fort Hill State Park between 2003 and 2020, burning about 163 acres in total. None started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 12 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 8 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 2 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 17 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 5 April 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 30 April 2015 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 1088 |
| 29 April 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 24 April 2014 | Debris and open burning | 5.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 24 April 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 21 April 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 1 April 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 25 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Eubanks-Tytus House | 3.3 miles | 1979 |
| Barretts Mills | 6.4 miles | 1972 | |
| Barretts Mills (Boundary Increase) | 6.4 miles | 1979 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 70000500 in Record Group 79. |
| Highland County | All 25 listed properties in this county. |