BlockBefore
Photograph of Upper Main Street Historic District
Photograph by John Phelan, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Upper Main Street Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1994. 24 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1885.

From the record

One of 86 National Register listings published here for Hampshire County · listed in 1994 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

Fires near this property

69 since 2002

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 69 fires within 5 miles of Upper Main Street Historic District between 2002 and 2020, burning about 55 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined25
Debris and open burning16
Equipment and vehicle use11
Recreation and ceremony10
Arson/incendiarism4
Natural2
Railroad operations and maintenance1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2015Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
30 August 2016Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
8 July 2004Naturalunder an acreMassachussetts State Fire Marshal's Officenot named
5 July 2015Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
4 July 2016Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
22 July 2017Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
14 July 2016Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
3 June 2019Arson/incendiarismunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named

Every fire recorded in Hampshire County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 20 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 20 workings within 5 miles of Upper Main Street Historic District: 8 past producers, 7 producers, 3 occurrences, 1 prospect. 7 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Brick Clay, Barium-Barite, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Granite Rock QuarryStone, DimensionProducer
Granite Rock QuarryGranitePast Producer
Hatfield Lead MineBarium-Barite, Lead, ZincPast ProducerVein
Hatfield Lead MineBarium-Barite, Zinc, LeadProducerBarite, Galena, Sphalerite
Hatfield Lead MineBarium-Barite, Lead, ZincPast Producer
Leverett Barite ProspectBarium-Barite, Lead, Zinc, CopperOccurrenceReplacement Vein
Whately - Williamsburg Lead VeinsLead, ManganeseOccurrenceGalena
Clay PitClayPast Producer
Clay PitClayPast Producer
Whately Lead Vein OccurrenceLead, ManganeseOccurrenceGalena

Every working recorded in Hampshire County

Maps showing this location

24 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 94000735 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Hampshire CountyAll 86 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.