BlockBefore
Photograph of Sylvania
Photograph by Bill Fitzpatrick, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Sylvania

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977.

From the record

“Sylvania in McCormick County, South Carolina, near Bradley, South Carolina, was built in 1825. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977.”

Wikipedia article Sylvania (McCormick County, South Carolina), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 22 National Register listings published here for McCormick County · listed in 1977 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Address. S of Bradley off SC 10, Bradley, 29819
  • When was it listed? November 1977
  • Category. building
  • Census division. McCormick
  • National Register reference number. 77001533 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

103 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 103 fires within 5 miles of Sylvania between 1992 and 2020, burning about 685 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 7 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined42
Debris and open burning27
Equipment and vehicle use10
Railroad operations and maintenance8
Arson/incendiarism7
Smoking4
Natural3
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
24 September 2010Debris and open burning1.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined8.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 1999Debris and open burning105 acresFrancis Marion & Sumter National ForestsCRESWELL
16 September 1999Debris and open burning60 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
15 September 1993Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
1 September 1992Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
5 August 1998Smokingunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
3 August 1992Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in McCormick County

Mines and quarries near this property

4 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Sylvania: 2 past producers, 1 unknown, 1 occurrence. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Gold. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Bradley MineGoldUnknown1848
Bradley MineGoldPast ProducerPlacer
Bradley ProspectGoldOccurrence
Young MineGoldPast Producer

Every working recorded in McCormick County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Eden Hall1.6 miles1980
Long Cane Massacre Site5.8 miles1983
Lower Long Cane Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church6.3 miles1999
Otway Henderson House7.2 miles1985
Joseph Jennings Dorn House7.3 miles1985
McCormick County Office Building7.4 miles2024

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 77001533 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
McCormick CountyAll 22 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.