From the record
One of 686 National Register listings published here for Worcester County · listed in 2025 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2025. 20 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1887.
One of 686 National Register listings published here for Worcester County · listed in 2025 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 165 fires within 5 miles of Academy Street Educational Historic District between 2015 and 2020, burning about 109 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 70 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 59 |
| Smoking | 22 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 5 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 3 |
| Fireworks | 3 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 7 September 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 5 September 2016 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 5 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 4 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 4 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 3 September 2017 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 24 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.4 acres | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | MONOOSNOC HILL |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Academy Street Educational Historic District: 4 past producers, 1 producer, 1 occurrence. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Tin, Lithium, Geothermal. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitchburg Area | Tin, Lithium | Occurrence | ||
| Leominster Pit | Geothermal | Past Producer | ||
| Luenburg Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| P J Keating | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Szocik Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Tanzio Road Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Fitchburg Historical Society | 0.2 miles | 2003 |
![]() | Monument Park Historic District | 0.2 miles | 1978 |
![]() | Calvinistic Congregational Church | 0.2 miles | 1979 |
![]() | Fay Club | 0.3 miles | 1978 |
![]() | Safety Fund National Bank | 0.3 miles | 2009 |
![]() | Fitchburg Yarn Mill | 0.6 miles | 2016 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100012289 in Record Group 79. |
| Worcester County | All 686 listed properties in this county. |