BlockBefore

Old Washington Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1975. 10 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1909.

From the record

One of 22 National Register listings published here for Guernsey County · listed in 1975 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. Both sides of Main St., Old Washington
  • When was it listed? May 1975
  • Category. district
  • National Register reference number. 75001413 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1909 to 1994

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 85 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Old Washington Historic District, surveyed 1994
Topographic sheet covering Old Washington Historic District, surveyed 1909

Fires near this property

15 since 2007

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 15 fires within 5 miles of Old Washington Historic District between 2007 and 2019, burning about 12 acres in total. None started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning9
Arson/incendiarism3
Recreation and ceremony1
Smoking1
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
16 September 2015Arson/incendiarismunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources1862
21 July 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources5205
12 July 2016Debris and open burning1.2 acresOhio Department of Natural Resources5165
9 May 2015Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources1212
8 April 2013Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
24 April 2019Arson/incendiarismunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15174
12 April 2017Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources7826
1 April 2014Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Guernsey County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Old Washington Historic District: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Miller PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Guernsey County

Maps showing this location

10 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
National Road3.2 miles1985
S Bridge, National Road3.7 miles1966
Broom-Braden Stone House6.5 miles1980
Kennedy Stone House6.9 miles1975
McCreary-Burnworth House7.4 miles1982
McCracken-Scott House7.8 miles1978

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 75001413 in Record Group 79.
Guernsey CountyAll 22 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.