BlockBefore
Photograph of Roscoe Village
Photograph by Nyttend, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Roscoe Village

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1913.

From the record

One of 20 National Register listings published here for Coshocton County · listed in 1973 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Address. Whitewoman and High Sts., Coshocton
  • When was it listed? April 1973
  • Category. district
  • Architectural style. Greek Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 73001403 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1913 to 1994

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 81 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Roscoe Village, surveyed 1994
Topographic sheet covering Roscoe Village, surveyed 1913

Fires near this property

20 since 2007

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 20 fires within 5 miles of Roscoe Village between 2007 and 2020, burning about 23 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning12
Missing data/not specified/undetermined5
Smoking2
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
28 June 2016Smokingunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources5106
6 April 2013Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
23 April 2020Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15666
23 April 2007Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
21 April 2007Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
21 April 2007Debris and open burning2.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
20 April 2007Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
18 April 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources4745

Every fire recorded in Coshocton County

Mines and quarries near this property

4 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Roscoe Village: 2 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Apache No. 1 PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Boyd Gravel Company PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Boyd Gravel Company PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Number 1 PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary

Every working recorded in Coshocton County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Old Union School0.5 miles1984
Coshocton County Courthouse0.6 miles1973
Samuel Lee House0.6 miles1979
Johnson-Humrickhouse House0.7 miles1974
Coshocton Main Street Historic District0.7 miles2019
J.F. Meek Buildings0.8 miles1985

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 73001403 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Coshocton CountyAll 20 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.