BlockBefore

Youngstown Sheet and Tube Company Housing

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982. 7 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1906.

From the record

One of 74 National Register listings published here for Mahoning County · listed in 1982 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. Jackson and Chambers St., Campbell
  • When was it listed? June 1982
  • Category. district
  • National Register reference number. 82003611 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

11 since 2010

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 11 fires within 5 miles of Youngstown Sheet and Tube Company Housing between 2010 and 2020, burning about 7 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning9
Equipment and vehicle use1
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2019Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15243
10 September 2020Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15837
10 September 2019Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15244
21 August 2020Debris and open burning1.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resources15822
15 July 2019Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15216
14 July 2019Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15215
6 May 2019Debris and open burning1.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resources15192
3 May 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resources15728

Every fire recorded in Mahoning County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 11 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 11 workings within 5 miles of Youngstown Sheet and Tube Company Housing: 8 past producers, 3 producers. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Limestone, General, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Us Steel/ Youngstown, OhioIronProducer
Carbon Limestone Company QuarryLimestone, GeneralPast ProducerSedimentary
Erskine Quarry & MillLimestone, GeneralPast ProducerSedimentary
Hillsville PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Standard Slag/ Struthers, OhioSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Bessemer QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Erskine Quarry & MillStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Hillsville QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Hillsville QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Limestone QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer

Every working recorded in Mahoning County

Maps showing this location

7 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Lake Hamilton Dam2.2 miles1984
White Bridge3.2 miles1983
Poland Center School3.3 miles1984
McCrory Building3.3 miles1986
Strouss-Hirschberg Company3.4 miles1986
South Main Street District (Boundary Increase)3.4 miles1984

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 82003611 in Record Group 79.
Mahoning CountyAll 74 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.