From the record
One of 17 National Register listings published here for Geauga County · listed in 1974 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1905.
One of 17 National Register listings published here for Geauga County · listed in 1974 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 89 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 1 fire within 5 miles of Burton Village Historic District in 2019, burning about 1 acre in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 August 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 15225 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Burton Village Historic District: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Haueter Sand and Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Dr. Erastus Goodwin House | 0.2 miles | 1975 |
![]() | Domestic Arts Hall And Flower Hall | 0.4 miles | 1979 |
![]() | Batavia House | 3.8 miles | 1987 |
![]() | Claridon Congregational Church | 3.8 miles | 1974 |
![]() | South Newbury Union Chapel | 4.0 miles | 2012 |
![]() | Lot Hathaway House | 4.6 miles | 1974 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 74001501 in Record Group 79. |
| Geauga County | All 17 listed properties in this county. |